Never Invited to Parties!

As a young child learning about our current government’s legislative workings from a teacher working for and paid by the government, I sat misty eyed at the “pure genious” behind our current bi-partisan or two-party system. It was presented in a perfectly wrapped box with fancy words like compromise and strung with  a politically proper pink bow sitting atop. I was unaware at the time that once I unwrapped this exquisitely packaged gift that I would find inside a rediculously disenchanting truth.  The truth that I wasn’t invited to the Parties!!!

As a relatively intelligent adult with an open mind and heart, I have found that I am not invited to have a voice in the legislation of our nation. The problem, that I have recently come across in my adult years, is that I am never aligned with either congressional/presidential candidate due to the fact that each party is so far removed from the other. Sure I want the Federal Government to be minimalized, but I’m also pro-choice. Yes I am an advocate for gay rights, but I am also a huge supporter of the NRA and against gun-control legislation.  It seems that if I were to ever crash a Party, I would be thrown in a headlock and tossed at the back into the garbage by security as soon as I open my mouth to converse with the party-goers.

Now I realize that there are other political parties in our country and the Libertarian Party especially seems to push the same ideals and values about governement that I would like to see implemented. The real issue is that our Plurality_voting_system doesn’t really allow any party out side of our two-party system to be included in the festivities. It is very easy to get disenchanted with the legislative system, especially when no matter who wins they will inevitably put some bill into law that completely goes against my values and ideals.

Do I vote for the “third party” candidate and be satisfied with whoever wins from the major players club?

Do I vote for the Republican candidate and tell my gay friends, that although I believe it isn’t the right of the government to tell them what consitutes marriage that I had to have my gun rights?

Or do I vote for Democrat so every man and woman has equal rights but allow the federal government to grow larger and have more control over state and individual rights?

About hunt4thought

Who is Zach Hunt? Everyone seems to have their own identity, but how many can explain to the masses who they really are. We spend so much time trying to get to know others throughout life that we rarely get time to ourselves. Here are some things I have discovered of myself. I am an imperfect, idealistic young man of 26 with pessimistic view of humanity and the sad state of affairs in the world. I have brought two children in to this world, whom I adore, and spend every weekend with them jealous of the way they look at the world as a shiny new place with all sorts of discovery and adventures to be had. I served 5 years in the U.S. Marine Corps and although I do not regret my service that does not mean I blindly believe in every war we have fought. I enjoy solitude but loathe loneliness. Most importantly I am cursed by thoughts, rants and rages that brew in my brain like a tempest. My solution? A Blog. View all posts by hunt4thought

Leave a Reply

